Clinical Suite Team

This area of the website is currently being updated

 

Collaborators based in Clinical Suite

Dr Angus Jones

Clinical Research Fellow

Angus trained in medicine in London before working as a junior doctor in St. George’s (London) and Southampton. After working as a doctor and lecturer in Malawi, he returned to the UK in 2007 to specialise in Diabetes and Endocrinology. Since 2008, he has worked in Exeter as an Academic Clinical Fellow, combining clinical training with research in the CRF. His area of interest is assessing insulin secretion using UCPCR and the relationship between insulin secretion and treatment response in type 2 diabetes. He has been awarded NIHR funding for a 3 year fellowship investigating prediction of treatment response to new therapies in type 2 diabetes with Andrew Hattersley for which he has now joined us full time. He is running the PRIBA (Predicting Response to Incretin Based Agents) study which is currently recruiting patients who are due to start new types of treatment for type 2 diabetes called GLP-1 analogues and DPP-IV inhibitors.

Contact:  Angus.Jones@exeter.ac.uk

 

Dr Sarah Flanagan

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Sarah completed her PhD in 2007 and has since worked as a post-doctoral research fellow at the Peninsula Medical School. Her current research focuses on the genetics of neonatal diabetes and congenital hyperinsulinism.

Contact: S.Flanagan@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr Katarina Kos, MRCP, MD, PhD

Senior Lecturer in Obesity Research and Honorary Consultant in Diabetes and Endocrinology

Contact: k.kos@exeter.ac.uk

 

David Melzer

Contact:D.Melzer@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

Dr Lorna Harries

Lecturer in Diabetes and Metabolism

Lorna completed her PhD at UCL in 1994 and joined Andrew Hattersley's team as a Postodctoral Fellow in 2001, working on the role of mRNA biology in maturity-onset diabetes of the young.  She gained an RCUK Fellowship in 2006, and set up the RNA-mediated mechanisms of disease group, which researches the effects of alternative mRNA processing and gene regulation in chronic disorders.  Lorna's collaboration with the CRF includes use of the Exeter Tissue Bank, which provides samples for her research.

Contact: L.W.Harries@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

 

Dr Jonathan Locke

Associate Research fellow

Jonathan is an Associate Research Fellow working with Dr Lorna Harries and is currently researching how genetic variation in type 2 diabetes susceptibility genes affects RNA processing and gene expression.  He uses the Exeter Tissue Bank to obtain human samples to help with his investigations.

Contact: J.Locke@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

Dr David Llewellyn

Research Fellow in Epidemiology

David joined the Peninsula Medical School in 2009 having moved from Cambridge University.  He has a background in neuropsychology and epidemiology.  His research focuses on the identification of potentially modifiable vascular and metabolic risk factors for Alzheimer’s and cognitive decline.

Contact:  David.Llewellyn@exeter.ac.uk

Dr Tim McDonald

Principal Clinical Scientist and Honorary Research Fellow

 

Tim is an NHS clinical scientist in the blood sciences laboratory at the Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust. Tim joined the clinical research facility in 2008 and currently works in both the clinical research team and the NHS laboratories. His research focuses on the use of biomarkers to identify and stratify disease. Tim co-ordinates the central laboratory for the EU multicentre IMI funded project DIRECT which aims to predict treatment response and progression in Type 2 diabetes.

Contact: Timothy.McDonald@NHS.net

 

PhD students in Clinical Suite

Faer Morrsison

Contact: p3fm0002@exeter.ac.uk

 

Clinical Suite Team

Bea Knight

Research Midwife

Bea has extensive clinical experience as both a Nurse and a Midwife. She currently assists in the develoment of new projects within the CRF, helping with protocol writing, grant applications and ethics submisssions.

Contact: B.A.Knight@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

Kirsty Wensley

Research Nurse

Contact:  kirsty.wensley@nhs.ne

 

 

 

Danielle Cox

Research Nurse

Danielle has been a qualified nurse since 2003, and has worked in various clinical areas including surgery and intensive care.  Currently working in both the CRF and the Diabetes and Vascular Research Centre at the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital, she is involved in the recruitment of participants to community based studies and vascular research studies.

Contact: daniellecox@nhs.net

 

Sarah Irvine

Research Nurse

 

Contact:  sarah.irvine@nhs.net

 

 

 

Debbie Keetch

Research Nurse

Contact: debbie.keetch@nhs.net

 

 

Daniela Carmona-Martin

Research Nurse

Contact: danielacarmonamartin@nhs.net

 

 

Kim Rowden

Research Nurse

Contact: kim.rowden@nhs.net

 

Sophie Warren

Research Officer

Contact:  sophiewarren@nhs.net

 

Contact: Sophie has a degree in Psychology with Sociology.  She joined the Trust in 2001 and has had a variety of roles including:  Information Analyst, Cancer Projects Facilitator & Cancer Trials Administrator. During this time she also qualified & worked as a Fitness Instructor/Personal Trainer.  Her main role in the CRF is coordinating the RD&E Tissue Bank including: consenting patients, collecting & storing samples, and managing the database.  Sophie also has an information governance role in the department managing SOPs and undertaking audits.

Marcus Mitchell

CRF Technician

Contact: M.R.P.Mitchell@exeter.ac.uk

 

Steven Spaull

CRF Technician

Contact: S.R.Spaull@exeter.ac.uk